Why Beggars Beyond Our Door?

Why change the blog name from “Out of Season,” which fits within the normalcy of blog titles to “Beggars Beyond Our Door,” which admittedly sounds a bit archaic? The answers lies, in part, in what a blog title does for me, which is it aspires me to who I want to become. Generally blog titles seem to fall into two categories: 1) Who I am and 2) Who I Hope to Be.  My approach has been to reflect who I hope to be.  Therefore the two following reasons are the overarching influences in this name change.

1. “Out of Season” corresponds to 2 Timothy 4:2 where Paul instructs us to “preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching. ” In many ways this has been my pastoral passion – to be bold and preach God’s Word. But it also reflected a desire to be witty. By choosing a title like “Out of Season” a “me against the world” mentality can take place. Well, the truth is that I don’t think God gives a flip about my wit, nor does he care for my individualistic mentality.

2. On the other side, ministry is much more than just preaching and teaching. In fact, I would dare say that a pastoral passion necessitates taking action with our words. I must not be a hearer and speaker only, but a doer. I turn through God’s word and am convicted for action as part of the Gospel. Of course we all know this, but I fear, explain it away in little ways with our lives so that we continually fall into mediocrity. But the proclamation of the Gospel continually means a lifestyle of self sacrifice, make yourself available to uncomfortable positions and going to those who know they need help. People like beggars. So the title change is an effort to remind me – and you – that there are beggars outside our door. What are we going to do about it?

Leave a Reply

