A Momentary Touch for a Passing Affliction

Comfort of joy, where is your solace now?
Cheer, joy, happiness, pleasure, song – all gone.
Agony’s sting, a scholar whom I bow.

Grief of life rejoins with a broken vow.
Smooth are her deceits, promises forgone.
Comfort of joy, where is your solace now?

Sweetness alight, my rival on the prowl.
Counsel’s relief, her bed empty at dawn.
Agony’s sting, a scholar whom I bow.

Charity of desert dear does she endow.
From me her gouging touch gladly withdrawn.
Comfort of joy, where is your solace now?

Made her profane; abuse I did allow.
Burden of regularity put on.
Agony’s sting, a scholar whom I bow.

All this but a dream I can disavow!
Gentle touch, sweet fragrance; to her I’m drawn!
Comfort of joy, here is your solace now!
Agony’s sting, to you I will never bow!

Leave a Reply

